Type to search


Six Countries Were Added to Trump New Travel Ban


Six new countries are added to the Trump new travel ban. The Trump administration on Friday announced an expansion of the travel restrictions, to include.

President Trump added Africa’s biggest country, Nigeria, as well as Myanmar, Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, Sudan, and Tanzania, to his restricted travel list. Trump is one of the President’s signature policies, which has been derided by critics. As an attempt to ban Muslims from the US.

The latest emphasis comes in three years. When President Donald Trump, in one of his first moves in office, signed the first travel ban. Which caused chaos at airports and eventually landed at the Supreme Court.

The news comes at the end of a major week for Trump with the signing of the USMCA trade deal. Also expected acquittal in the Senate impeachment trial.

Related news:
Trump Suspend Immigration Order into the U.S.
USMCA Agreement to Be Passed the End of 2019

How Come Are the Six Countries Banned?

All six countries have substantial Muslim populations. The total number of countries now on the restricted travel list stands at 13. Immigrant visas, issued to those seeking to live in the United States, will be banned for Nigeria, Myanmar, Eritrea, and Kyrgyzstan.

The ban will also prevent immigrants from Sudan and Tanzania from moving to the United States through the diversity visa lottery, which grants green cards to as many as 50,000 people a year.

Acting DHS Secretary Chad Wolf informed reporters Friday that DHS has undertaken a “systematic review” of all countries.

On Burma, Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, and Nigeria, the restrictions will apply to immigrant visas. It also concerns those attempting to live or work in the U.S. permanently. For Sudan and Tanzania, the limitations placed on diversity visas. Visascoming from the controversial diversity lottery program that grants visas to prospective immigrants randomly each year.

Trump initially included seven countries on both immigrant and non-immigrant visas. However, Wolf stated that the travel ban of six countries announced Friday is very different from the current seven.

“These countries, for the most part, want to be helpful, want to do the right thing, have relationships with the U.S. and are in some cases improving relations, but for a variety of different reasons failed to meet those minimum requirements that we laid out,” he stated.

“And really the only way to mitigate the risk is to impose these travel restrictions,” he continued.

trump new travel ban to six new countries
Los Angeles Times

2018 Trump Travel Ban

In 2018, the Supreme Court confirmed the third version of the travel ban after the previous repetitions were challenged in court. The current policy restricts entry from seven countries to varying degrees: Iran, Libya, Somalia, Syria, and Yemen, along with Venezuela and North Korea.

The announcement, endorsed by President Donald Trump Friday, is expected to take effect at 12:01 am on February 22.

“Travelers on their way to the United States will not be denied entry as a result of this proclamation,” stated the official. Nationals of the six countries already in the US or those with a valid visa to come to the US will “not be impacted,” the official continued.

Asked why immigrant visas but not non-immigrant visas (for temporary stays in the U.S.) were being restricted. Wolf stated it was because permanent visas make it much harder to remove someone. It’s harder if they are in danger.

He stated. “We wanted to make sure that these six countries that do have relations with the U.S., we need to mitigate the risk… but we also make sure we want to send a signal that we’re very serious about this but not cripple all of their various visas, so there’s a number of visas they’re still able to use.”

Related: OJ Simpson joined Twitter After 25th Anniversary of Ex-Wife’s Murder

Increase in Restrictions

The increase in the restrictions, which already affected more than 135 million people in seven countries. It is likely to prevent more than 12,300 possible immigrants in the next year. Travelers seeking to resettle, find work or reunite with their families in the United States. The effect on Nigeria, not only Africa’s most populated country but also its largest economy, could be particularly severe.

The United States issued more than 7,920 immigrant visas to Nigerians in the 2018 fiscal year. The second-most of any African country.

“President Trump and his administration’s continued disdain for our nation’s national security and our founding ideals of liberty and justice dishonor our proud immigrant heritage and the diversity that strengthens and enriches our communities,” Speaker Nancy Pelosi of California stated.

Days after he came into office, Mr. Trump signed an executive order of a new travel ban. In which the ban, closed the country’s borders to people from seven predominantly Muslim countries. It made a partial good on a campaign pledge.
“for a total and complete shutdown of Muslims entering the United States until our country’s representatives can figure out what the hell is going on.”

Democratic legislators have proceeded to denounce the ban and pushed back against the administration’s argument. The ban was for national security purposes.

Last year, Democrats proposed a bill known as the “No Ban Act” in the House and Senate to overturn the ban. However, the measure is to pass the GOP-controlled Senate.

More like this:
US Mexico Border Wall Falls Over As of High Wind Blows
JLo, Shakira Shining As Super Bowl Halftime Performers

1 Comment

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.